Skip to content
Quilt & QuietHome

Gift guide

The best gifts for someone recovering from hip or knee surgery

Recovery is a few months of temporary problems: a bed at the wrong height, nothing to push up on, sleeping propped. Five gifts that solve them, none of which needs to stay.

By Stephen V.Published How we pick

We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend, and we have not tested these products — here is what we do instead.

The gift most people bring after a joint replacement is flowers, and the problem most people have after a joint replacement is the bed. It is the wrong height for a hip that must not bend too far, there is nothing to push up on with a knee that does not want to be loaded yet, and lying flat is uncomfortable for weeks. Every one of those is solvable for less than the flowers cost, and every one of the fixes can come back out of the room when recovery is done.

Every product here is one we compare elsewhere on this site, on published specifications. What is different on this page is that the recipient's problem is temporary and specific, so the picks are chosen for being adjustable, removable and quick to set up. We are not clinicians. Bed height and movement restrictions after surgery are questions for the surgeon and the physical therapist, and the first section says exactly that.

Our ranked picks, with live prices
Rank1
Home It Adjustable Bed Risers, 3/5/8 in

Home It Adjustable Bed Risers, 3/5/8 in

Best for getting the bed to the right height

Key spec3, 5 or 8 inLiftScore8.5/10
Rank2
Able Life Bedside Safety Handle

Able Life Bedside Safety Handle

Best for standing up

Key specStand assistTypeScore8.0/10
Rank3
Lunderg Bed Assist Rail with Motion-Activated Light

Lunderg Bed Assist Rail with Motion-Activated Light

Best for the night trip

Key specMotion-activatedLightScore8.0/10
Rank4
Kolbs Bed Wedge Pillow, 7.5 in

Kolbs Bed Wedge Pillow, 7.5 in

Best for sleeping propped up

Key spec7.5 inRiseScore8.8/10
Rank5
Ruqmuis Bed Wedge Pillow, 10 in

Ruqmuis Bed Wedge Pillow, 10 in

Best for more angle

Key spec10 inRiseScore8.8/10

Prices checked September 14, 2026. Scores are our published spec rubric, not a test result — here is exactly how they are calculated.

Why the bed is the problem

Sitting on the edge of a bed at the right height puts the feet flat on the floor with the knees at roughly ninety degrees and the weight already over the feet. From there, standing is a lean and a push. A bed that is too low means the knees come up above the hips to sit — which bends the hip deeply — and standing means pressing up out of a squat with the operated leg. A bed that is too high means the feet dangle and the person slides down to reach the floor, landing the weight through the new joint. Getting the height right is not comfort. For the months of recovery it is the difference between a safe transfer and an unsafe one.

The gifts, and why each one lands

Risers with three heights — to set the bed to their legs

Why it lands: one box, three lifts. The physical therapist says what height is safe, the risers go in at the nearest step, and they come back out when recovery is over. A published load rating and a published material. Who it suits: anyone whose bed is too low for their precautions, which after a hip replacement is a lot of people. What to check: leg shape and thickness against the socket, since socket depth is not published; a stacked riser is less stable than a single piece, so prefer the lowest lift that meets the number; and raising the bed raises the fall. The arithmetic takes five minutes.

A stand-assist handle — for the moment of standing

Why it lands: it gives the arms a job during the transfer, so the operated leg does less of the work of standing. Height adjustable, padded, with a published load rating and fit. It looks like furniture and it comes off when it is no longer needed. Who it suits: a person who can get themselves to the edge of the bed but needs help with the push. What to check: it is a handle, not a rail — it will not stop anyone rolling out; it rules out adjustable beds and extra-soft mattresses; and standing loads a handle harder than sitting on it.

A rail with a motion light — for the night trip

Why it lands: it is marketed for post-surgery use specifically, which is often exactly when a rail is a temporary need rather than a permanent one. A grab bar to push up on, and a light that comes on as a hand reaches for it, so the floor between the bed and the bathroom is lit before the feet touch it. Who it suits: a recovering person on an ordinary bed, with a mattress in the published thickness range. What to check: the listing rules out adjustable beds; it does not name an ASTM standard, which is now a legal requirement for adult portable bed rails and worth confirming with the seller; and no height adjustment is published.

A 7.5-inch wedge — for sleeping propped up

Why it lands: weeks of lying flat are uncomfortable after surgery, and a wedge holds a modest angle all night without the pillows sliding out. It states FSA eligibility on the listing and publishes what is inside it. Who it suits: a recovering person who wants to sleep slightly raised, or who has been told to elevate. What to check: the rise is 7.5 inches, which some people find too little; and a wedge raises the chest, not the bed, so it does nothing for getting out.

A 10-inch wedge — for more angle

Why it lands: ten inches rather than seven and a half is the difference between a slight tilt and an angle you can feel, and the headboard-style shape fills the gap between mattress and headboard rather than sliding into it. Who it suits: someone who has tried a lower wedge and wants more, or who has been told to sleep noticeably raised. What to check: it does not state FSA eligibility, a steeper wedge makes some people slide down it in the night, and the foam is named but not measured.

The picks in full

1 · Best for getting the bed to the right height

Home It Adjustable Bed Risers, 3/5/8 in

Home It Adjustable Bed Risers, 3/5/8 in

Three published lift heights from one set and a published 1,300 lb rating — the most flexible way to test a height before committing to it.

Lift
3, 5 or 8 in
Our spec score
8.5/10
Best for
Trying a height first
$21.99 · Check price

$25.9915% off

As of September 14, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

What works

  • Three heights out of one box, so you can try 3 inches, decide it is not enough, and go to 5 without buying twice
  • A published 1,300 lb rating for the set, and a published material — polypropylene, not an unnamed plastic
  • Cheap enough that testing a height costs less than being wrong about one

What doesn’t

  • Stacked risers are less stable than a single-piece riser of the same height — stack at your own judgment
  • No published socket depth, and socket depth is what decides whether your bed leg actually sits in it
  • Raising a bed raises the fall distance. Height helps you stand; it does not help you land

Published specifications

Published specifications for the Home It Adjustable Bed Risers, 3/5/8 in
Lift heights3, 5 or 8 inches (stackable)
Load rating1,300 lb
Pack4
MaterialPolypropylene
Socket depthNot published

Read from the product listing on 2026-08-26. Blanks are specifications the manufacturer does not publish, not figures we could not be bothered to find.

How the score was reached

Rubric breakdown for the Home It Adjustable Bed Risers, 3/5/8 in
Lift rangeThree published heights from 3 to 8 inches.10
Load rating1,300 lb published for the set.9
StabilityPolypropylene with a broad base published; stackable by design, and no socket depth.7
Set sizeFour-pack — one per bed leg.8
Mean, rounded to one decimal8.5

2 · Best for standing up

Able Life Bedside Safety Handle

Able Life Bedside Safety Handle

A padded stand-assist handle rather than a guard rail — the right tool if the problem is standing up, not rolling out.

Type
Stand assist
Our spec score
8.0/10
Best for
Standing up, not staying in
$49.99 · Check price

As of September 14, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

What works

  • Height adjustable, so the grip can sit where your hand naturally reaches from sitting
  • Padded grip, which matters if arthritis makes a bare steel tube unpleasant to hold hard
  • A published 300 lb load rating and a published fit across king, queen, full and twin

What doesn’t

  • It is a handle, not a rail. It will not stop anyone rolling out of bed, and it is not meant to
  • 300 lb is the lowest published rating of the rails here, and standing up loads a handle harder than sitting on it does
  • No light, and the listing rules out adjustable beds and extra-soft mattresses

Published specifications

Published specifications for the Able Life Bedside Safety Handle
TypeStand-assist handle (not a full-length guard rail)
Standard claimedASTM safety approved
Height adjustableYes
PaddingPadded grip
Load rating300 lb
FitsKing, queen, full and twin beds; mattresses 6–14 in thick
LightNot published

Read from the product listing on 2026-08-26. Blanks are specifications the manufacturer does not publish, not figures we could not be bothered to find.

How the score was reached

Rubric breakdown for the Able Life Bedside Safety Handle
Standard complianceASTM compliance stated on the listing.9
Grip and reachHeight adjustable with a published padded grip.9
Load rating300 lb published — the lowest published figure of the rails here.8
FitKing, queen, full and twin all published, with a 6–14 in mattress window.9
Night useNo light published — neutral score.5
Mean, rounded to one decimal8.0

3 · Best for the night trip

Lunderg Bed Assist Rail with Motion-Activated Light

Lunderg Bed Assist Rail with Motion-Activated Light

The motion light is the feature. Most bedroom falls happen on the way to the bathroom in the dark, and this one lights the floor as you reach for it.

Light
Motion-activated
Our spec score
8.0/10
Best for
The 3am bathroom trip
$59.95 · Check price

As of September 14, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

What works

  • A motion-activated light on the thing you were already going to grab — no switch to find in the dark
  • A published non-slip grab bar and a 300 lb load rating, load-tested on a steel frame with four stabilizing bars
  • Marketed for post-surgery use, which is often when a rail is a temporary need rather than a permanent one

What doesn’t

  • The listing does not state ASTM compliance, and for an adult portable bed rail that is now a legal requirement worth confirming with the seller. It is the only rail here that names no standard at all
  • No published height adjustment, so the grip sits where it sits
  • The listing rules out adjustable beds, so this is not the rail for a motorized base

Published specifications

Published specifications for the Lunderg Bed Assist Rail with Motion-Activated Light
LightMotion-activated
TypeBed assist rail with non-slip grab bar
Standard claimedNot published
Load rating300 lb, load-tested
Height adjustableNot published
FitsTwin to king, mattresses 7–13 in thick; not adjustable beds

Read from the product listing on 2026-08-26. Blanks are specifications the manufacturer does not publish, not figures we could not be bothered to find.

How the score was reached

Rubric breakdown for the Lunderg Bed Assist Rail with Motion-Activated Light
Standard complianceNo standard stated on the listing — neutral score.5
Grip and reachNon-slip grab bar published; no height adjustment stated.8
Load rating300 lb published and described as load-tested.8
FitTwin to king with a 7–13 in mattress window published; adjustable beds excluded.9
Night useMotion-activated light published — the top band.10
Mean, rounded to one decimal8.0

4 · Best for sleeping propped up

Kolbs Bed Wedge Pillow, 7.5 in

Kolbs Bed Wedge Pillow, 7.5 in

A published 7.5-inch rise and a published FSA eligibility, at roughly one twentieth of what a base costs.

Rise
7.5 in
Our spec score
8.8/10
Best for
Trying elevation cheaply
$35.99 · Check price

$39.9910% off

As of September 14, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

What works

  • If the problem is reflux, this is the thing to try before a base — and CMS itself points people at elevation before equipment
  • FSA eligibility is published, which turns a $36 pillow into a pre-tax $36 pillow
  • It publishes what is inside it: a 1.5-inch memory foam top layer over a high-density foam core, on a removable machine-washable cover

What doesn’t

  • A wedge raises your chest, not the whole bed. It does nothing at all for getting out of bed
  • 7.5 inches is a modest rise; some people need more angle than this gives
  • The foam densities themselves are not published, so how much the core will sag over a year is still a guess

Published specifications

Published specifications for the Kolbs Bed Wedge Pillow, 7.5 in
Height7.5 inches
WidthStandard
FSA eligibleYes (stated on the listing)
CoverJacquard, removable and machine washable
Fill1.5 in memory foam over a high-density foam core

Read from the product listing on 2026-08-26. Blanks are specifications the manufacturer does not publish, not figures we could not be bothered to find.

How the score was reached

Rubric breakdown for the Kolbs Bed Wedge Pillow, 7.5 in
Rise published7.5-inch height published.9
CoverageStandard width stated; no length or torso-coverage figure.6
Cover and careA removable, machine-washable jacquard cover and a published two-layer fill.10
Cost of tryingFSA-eligible and an order of magnitude below a base.10
Mean, rounded to one decimal8.8

5 · Best for more angle

Ruqmuis Bed Wedge Pillow, 10 in

Ruqmuis Bed Wedge Pillow, 10 in

Ten inches rather than seven and a half, which is the difference between a slight tilt and an angle you can feel.

Rise
10 in
Our spec score
8.8/10
Best for
More angle
$29.98 · Check price

As of September 14, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

What works

  • A published 10-inch rise — meaningfully more angle than the 7.5-inch option
  • Headboard-style, so it fills the gap between mattress and headboard rather than sliding into it
  • A published high-density, high-rebound foam fill, and a cover included

What doesn’t

  • No FSA eligibility stated, which the 7.5-inch alternative does state
  • A steeper wedge makes some people slide down it in the night
  • The foam is named but not measured — no density figure, so 'high-density' is the seller's word for it

Published specifications

Published specifications for the Ruqmuis Bed Wedge Pillow, 10 in
Height10 inches
FormTriangle wedge, headboard style
CoverIncluded
FSA eligibleNot published
FillHigh-density foam, high-rebound

Read from the product listing on 2026-08-26. Blanks are specifications the manufacturer does not publish, not figures we could not be bothered to find.

How the score was reached

Rubric breakdown for the Ruqmuis Bed Wedge Pillow, 10 in
Rise published10-inch height published — the top band.10
CoverageHeadboard-style form published; no width figure.8
Cover and careA cover is included; its material is not published.8
Cost of tryingFar below a base; no FSA statement.9
Mean, rounded to one decimal8.8

What we would not buy for a recovery

  • An adjustable base. Recovery is temporary and a base is not. It needs assembly, a mattress that bends, and a room that fits it, and most rails will not mount on it afterwards. If sleeping at an angle turns out to matter permanently, that is a decision for later, made with a wedge's worth of evidence.
  • Anything that has to stay. The point of every pick above is that it comes out of the room when it is no longer needed. Recovery gifts that look like permanent equipment tend to be resented, and resented equipment does not get used.
  • A guess at the bed height. The number comes from the physical therapist and a tape measure, not from an average. The calculator shows its working.
A tape measure resting on a wooden floor
The one measurement that decides whether a recovery bed is safe to get out of: floor to the back of the knee, sitting, feet flat.

Questions people actually ask

What is a useful gift for someone after a hip replacement?

Something that solves the bed-height problem, because that is the one nobody warns you about. A bed that is too low means bending the hip deeply to sit and pressing up hard to stand — exactly the movements many surgeons restrict. A set of risers with more than one height lets the bed be set to the person's legs for the months it matters, and removed afterwards.

Should I ask their surgeon before buying any of this?

Yes, about the hip precautions specifically. There is no single set: they depend on the surgical approach and the surgeon's judgment about that hip. Some people are told to avoid bending past ninety degrees; others are given far fewer restrictions. The physical therapist is the right person to ask what bed height and what movements are safe. This page cannot tell you, and does not try.

Is a bed rail a good idea after knee surgery?

A handle or a rail with a grab bar gives something to push up on, which is the moment a new knee is least happy. Check that it fits the mattress thickness and that the frame is not an adjustable base, which most rails rule out. One rail here is marketed for post-surgery use specifically, and its motion light is the feature for the night trip.

Wedge pillow or adjustable bed for recovery?

A wedge, almost always. Recovery is temporary, a wedge costs a small fraction of a base and needs no assembly, and it answers within a week whether sleeping at an angle helps. The full comparison explains when a base is worth it.

Sources

Every factual claim on this page traces to one of these, or to a product listing cited in the specification table beside it.

  • Guide

    After Hip Replacement

    After hip surgery a bed that is too low is hard and unsafe to leave - here is why higher usually helps, and how to raise one temporarily.

  • Guide

    Post-Surgery Recovery

    Elevation can make recovery more comfortable and getting up safer. What a bed helps with, and what stays with your surgical team.

  • Comparison

    Best Wedge Pillows

    The cheapest way to sleep on an incline — scored on published rise, coverage and cover, with the one thing a fixed ramp can never do.

    Our top pick — Kolbs Bed Wedge Pillow, 7.5 in

    $35.99 · Check price

    $39.9910% off

    As of September 14, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Nothing here is medical advice. Prices are pulled live and stamped with the date they were checked; scores are our published spec rubric, not a test result. How we pick · How we make money · Corrections