Skip to content
Quilt & QuietHome

Comparison

Equipment that helps someone get out of bed

Three kinds of hardware do three different jobs. Which one you need depends on whether the failure is pulling up, standing up, or a bed that is simply the wrong height.

By Stephen V.Published How we pick

We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend, and we have not tested these products — here is what we do instead.

The verdict first: for most households the device to buy is the Lesamediio HC035 bed assist rail — the highest published load rating of anything we track at 400 lb, a width that adjusts from 23 to 30.5 inches, a stabilizer bar reaching 28 inches under the mattress and a motion-sensor night light. It is for a person who can still take their own weight but needs something solid to pull against. If the bed is an adjustable base, buy the [Able Life Click-N-Go](/bed-safety/reviews/able-life-click-n-go-bed-rail) instead — it is the only one of the six whose listing names adjustable frames at all.

The reason this page exists is that "a device to help someone get out of bed" is three different products, and buying the wrong one is the usual outcome. Watch the movement before you shop.

Three jobs, three kinds of hardware

  1. Rolling and sitting up. The failure is getting from flat to sitting on the edge. This is a pulling job and it wants a horizontal grip at mattress level — a bed assist rail, with its length along the side of the bed.
  2. Standing up from the edge. The failure is the last six inches, with both feet on the floor. This is a pushing-down-and-forward job and it wants a vertical grip you can get above — a stand-assist handle, which is shorter than a rail and sits where your hand lands when you lean forward.
  3. The bed being the wrong height. The failure is not strength at all: the mattress sits too low, so standing starts from a deep squat. Risers under the legs raise the whole bed and put no hardware anywhere near the sleeper. Risers versus leg extensions if the bed is already on an adjustable base.

A fourth answer exists and it is the expensive one: a powered base that raises the head of the bed until sitting up is almost passive. That is the right answer when the person cannot get to sitting under their own strength on any given morning, and it is covered across the adjustable beds section. Everything on this page costs a fraction of it.

Everything we track for this job, compared

Read from each product's live Amazon listing on the date stamped in its own specification table. "Not published" means the listing does not state it.
ProductTypePublished loadMattress depth windowAdjustable beds
Lesamediio HC035Assist rail400 lbNot publishedNo - stated
YrHeiper with support legAssist rail, floor leg350 lb7.9-13 inNo - stated
Stander EZ AdjustRail, folds down300 lb10-14 inNo - stated
Able Life Click-N-GoExtendable rail300 lb10-12 inYes - wood frames
Able Life Bedside Safety HandleStand-assist handle300 lb6-14 inNot stated
Lunderg with motion lightAssist rail300 lb7-13 inNo - stated
Home It risersRisers, 3/5/8 in lift1,300 lb per setNot applicableNot applicable

The four we would buy

Our ranked picks, with live prices
Rank1
Lesamediio HC035 Bed Assist Rail

Lesamediio HC035 Bed Assist Rail

Best overall

Key spec400 lbLoad ratingScore9.2/10
Rank2
Able Life Bedside Safety Handle

Able Life Bedside Safety Handle

Best for standing up

Key specStand assistTypeScore8.0/10
Rank3
Able Life Click-N-Go Extendable Bed Rail

Able Life Click-N-Go Extendable Bed Rail

Best for an adjustable bed

Key specAdjustable framesFitsScore8.0/10
Rank4
Home It Adjustable Bed Risers, 3/5/8 in

Home It Adjustable Bed Risers, 3/5/8 in

Best fix with no hardware on the bed

Key spec3, 5 or 8 inLiftScore8.5/10

Prices checked October 16, 2026. Scores are our published spec rubric, not a test result — here is exactly how they are calculated.

1 · Best overall

Lesamediio HC035 Bed Assist Rail

Lesamediio HC035 Bed Assist Rail

The highest published load rating here at 400 lb, on a rail that names the exact ASTM standard rather than gesturing at one.

Load rating
400 lb
Our spec score
9.2/10
Best for
The highest published load rating
$69.99 · Check price

As of October 16, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

What works

  • It publishes a 400 lb load rating — the one number you actually lean on, and the highest figure any rail here prints
  • It names the standard instead of gesturing at it: ASTM F3186-17, the standard 16 CFR part 1270 made mandatory in August 2023
  • Published width and height adjustment, so the grip can be set where your hand falls from sitting, plus a motion sensor light and a safety strap to the opposite side of the frame

What doesn’t

  • The listing states it is not compatible with adjustable beds. If the deck bends, this is the wrong rail
  • One handrail, not a U-bar — there is no second grip height for anyone who pushes up in two stages
  • The light's brightness, run-time and power source are not published, and a sensor light is the first component to fail on an inexpensive rail

Published specifications

Published specifications for the Lesamediio HC035 Bed Assist Rail
Standard claimedASTM F3186-17, named on the listing
Load rating400 lb
LightMotion sensor night light
Grip formSingle padded non-slip handrail
AdjustableWidth 23–30.5 in, height 20.5–23.5 in
Stabilizer barExtends to 28 in under the mattress
Storage pocketYes — detachable
FitsTwin, full, queen and king; not adjustable beds

Read from the product listing on 2026-08-26. Blanks are specifications the manufacturer does not publish, not figures we could not be bothered to find.

How the score was reached

Rubric breakdown for the Lesamediio HC035 Bed Assist Rail
Standard complianceNames ASTM F3186-17 specifically — the standard 16 CFR part 1270 made mandatory — not a generic ASTM claim.10
Grip and reachPadded non-slip handrail with published width and height adjustment; one grip height, not two.9
Load rating400 lb published — the highest figure any rail here states.10
FitTwin, full, queen and king published; explicitly not for adjustable beds.8
Night useMotion sensor light published; no brightness or run-time figure.9
Mean, rounded to one decimal9.2

2 · Best for standing up

Able Life Bedside Safety Handle

Able Life Bedside Safety Handle

A padded stand-assist handle rather than a guard rail — the right tool if the problem is standing up, not rolling out.

Type
Stand assist
Our spec score
8.0/10
Best for
Standing up, not staying in
$49.99 · Check price

As of October 16, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

What works

  • Height adjustable, so the grip can sit where your hand naturally reaches from sitting
  • Padded grip, which matters if arthritis makes a bare steel tube unpleasant to hold hard
  • A published 300 lb load rating and a published fit across king, queen, full and twin

What doesn’t

  • It is a handle, not a rail. It will not stop anyone rolling out of bed, and it is not meant to
  • 300 lb is the lowest published rating of the rails here, and standing up loads a handle harder than sitting on it does
  • No light, and the listing rules out adjustable beds and extra-soft mattresses

Published specifications

Published specifications for the Able Life Bedside Safety Handle
TypeStand-assist handle (not a full-length guard rail)
Standard claimedASTM safety approved
Height adjustableYes
PaddingPadded grip
Load rating300 lb
FitsKing, queen, full and twin beds; mattresses 6–14 in thick
LightNot published

Read from the product listing on 2026-08-26. Blanks are specifications the manufacturer does not publish, not figures we could not be bothered to find.

How the score was reached

Rubric breakdown for the Able Life Bedside Safety Handle
Standard complianceASTM compliance stated on the listing.9
Grip and reachHeight adjustable with a published padded grip.9
Load rating300 lb published — the lowest published figure of the rails here.8
FitKing, queen, full and twin all published, with a 6–14 in mattress window.9
Night useNo light published — neutral score.5
Mean, rounded to one decimal8.0

3 · Best for an adjustable bed

Able Life Click-N-Go Extendable Bed Rail

Able Life Click-N-Go Extendable Bed Rail

The only rail in this set whose listing names adjustable bed frames specifically — which is the compatibility question everyone asks and almost nobody answers.

Fits
Adjustable frames
Our spec score
8.0/10
Best for
Adjustable bed frames
$159.99 · Check price

As of October 16, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

What works

  • Explicitly listed for wood adjustable bed frames, so the mounting question has a published answer
  • Removable without tools, which matters when a carer needs the side of the bed clear
  • States ASTM compliance and publishes both bed-size fit and a 300 lb load rating

What doesn’t

  • Wood frames specifically — an all-steel adjustable base is a different mounting problem, so check before ordering
  • The published mattress window is narrow — 10 to 12 inches — and a lot of modern mattresses are thicker than that
  • The most expensive rail in this comparison by some distance

Published specifications

Published specifications for the Able Life Click-N-Go Extendable Bed Rail
Adjustable-bed compatibleYes — listed for wood adjustable bed frames
Standard claimedASTM safety approved
RemovableYes
ExtendableYes
Load rating300 lb
FitsKing, queen, full and twin beds; mattresses 10–12 in thick
LightNot published

Read from the product listing on 2026-08-26. Blanks are specifications the manufacturer does not publish, not figures we could not be bothered to find.

How the score was reached

Rubric breakdown for the Able Life Click-N-Go Extendable Bed Rail
Standard complianceASTM compliance stated on the listing.9
Grip and reachExtendable and removable; no padding or height detail published.8
Load rating300 lb published.8
FitBed sizes, a mattress window AND adjustable-frame compatibility all published.10
Night useNo light published — neutral score.5
Mean, rounded to one decimal8.0

4 · Best fix with no hardware on the bed

Home It Adjustable Bed Risers, 3/5/8 in

Home It Adjustable Bed Risers, 3/5/8 in

Three published lift heights from one set and a published 1,300 lb rating — the most flexible way to test a height before committing to it.

Lift
3, 5 or 8 in
Our spec score
8.5/10
Best for
Trying a height first
$21.99 · Check price

$25.9915% off

As of October 16, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

What works

  • Three heights out of one box, so you can try 3 inches, decide it is not enough, and go to 5 without buying twice
  • A published 1,300 lb rating for the set, and a published material — polypropylene, not an unnamed plastic
  • Cheap enough that testing a height costs less than being wrong about one

What doesn’t

  • Stacked risers are less stable than a single-piece riser of the same height — stack at your own judgment
  • No published socket depth, and socket depth is what decides whether your bed leg actually sits in it
  • Raising a bed raises the fall distance. Height helps you stand; it does not help you land

Published specifications

Published specifications for the Home It Adjustable Bed Risers, 3/5/8 in
Lift heights3, 5 or 8 inches (stackable)
Load rating1,300 lb
Pack4
MaterialPolypropylene
Socket depthNot published

Read from the product listing on 2026-08-26. Blanks are specifications the manufacturer does not publish, not figures we could not be bothered to find.

How the score was reached

Rubric breakdown for the Home It Adjustable Bed Risers, 3/5/8 in
Lift rangeThree published heights from 3 to 8 inches.10
Load rating1,300 lb published for the set.9
StabilityPolypropylene with a broad base published; stackable by design, and no socket depth.7
Set sizeFour-pack — one per bed leg.8
Mean, rounded to one decimal8.5

Lesamediio HC035 — for the person who needs something solid to pull against. The highest published load rating here at 400 lb, the widest grip adjustment at 23 to 30.5 inches, an adjustable height of 20.5 to 23.5 inches and the longest stabilizer bar reach of the six at 28 inches. It names ASTM F3186-17 — which has been federal law for adult portable bed rails since 2023 rather than a marketing badge — and adds a motion-sensor night light. Its one real blank is the mattress-depth window, which it does not publish at all.

Able Life Bedside Safety Handle — for the person whose problem is standing, not rolling. A padded, height-adjustable vertical grip rather than a guard rail, rated to 300 lb, with the widest published mattress-depth window of anything we track at 6 to 14 inches. It will not stop anyone rolling out of bed, and it is not meant to: it is the tool for the last six inches of standing up. The full comparison of handles.

Able Life Click-N-Go — for a bed that already has a motor in it. The only one of the six whose listing names adjustable bed frames specifically, and the compatibility question nearly nobody in this category answers. Rated to 300 lb, extendable, removable, with a published fit for king, queen, full and twin and mattresses 10 to 12 inches thick. If your mattress is thicker than 12 inches, measure before you order — the depth windows every rail publishes.

Home It risers — for when the bed, not the person, is the problem. Three published lift heights from one set (3, 5 or 8 inches, stackable) and a published 1,300 lb rating across four risers, which makes it the cheapest way to test a bed height before committing to new furniture. Raise the bed, sit on the edge and check the result against your own measurements rather than against a chart. Bed riser weight limits, in detail.

Four checks before you buy any of them

  • Measure the mattress depth. Most of these publish a window and the windows are narrow. A 12-inch mattress with a 3-inch topper on it is outside every window on this site.
  • Check the frame type. Four of the six rails and handles state they are not for adjustable or recessed frames. That statement is the seller telling you the fitting will not hold.
  • Look for the standard by name. Three products name ASTM F3186-17 explicitly; others say "ASTM safety approved", which is a looser claim. What the rule actually requires.
  • Check the gaps after fitting, then again later. Gaps are the entrapment mechanism, and they change when a mattress shifts. The fitting checks, step by step.

Every figure above was read from the live Amazon listing of the product it belongs to, on the date stamped in that product's own specification table, and every blank is reported as a blank. We have not load-tested a rail or fitted one to a bed; the scores are an editorial reading of published specifications against the rubric on how we pick. Nothing here is medical or occupational-therapy advice — if someone is falling, that is an assessment, not a shopping decision.

Questions people actually ask

What device helps an elderly person get out of bed?

Three kinds, and they are not interchangeable. A bed assist rail gives something to pull against while rolling and sitting up. A stand-assist handle gives a vertical grip at the edge of the mattress for the moment of standing. Bed risers change the height of the bed itself, which is the fix when the problem is that the mattress sits too low to stand up from. Start by watching which part of the movement fails, then buy for that part.

Which of these publishes the highest load rating?

The Lesamediio HC035 bed assist rail, at 400 lb — the highest published figure of the six rails and handles we track. The YrHeiper publishes 350 lb and the other four publish 300 lb. Risers are rated differently and much higher, because four of them share the load of the whole bed: the Home It set publishes 1,300 lb.

Will a bed rail fit an adjustable bed?

Usually not, and this is the single most common mistake. Four of the six rails and handles we track state outright that they are not for adjustable beds. The exception is the Able Life Click-N-Go, whose listing names wood adjustable bed frames specifically. If you have an adjustable base, start with the rails that actually fit one rather than with the highest-rated rail.

Is a rail or a handle safer?

Neither is categorically safer; they fail differently. A full-length rail creates gaps between the rail, the mattress and the headboard, and gaps are the mechanism behind entrapment — the FDA's Hospital Bed Safety Workgroup guidance is dimensional for exactly that reason. A stand-assist handle is a short vertical grip with far less rail length to form a gap, but it gives no protection against rolling out. Who should not use a bed rail is the page to read before either.

Can raising the bed replace a rail?

Sometimes, and it is worth trying first because it puts no hardware on the bed at all. If the person can sit on the edge unaided but cannot rise from it, the bed is probably too low, and three to eight inches of riser under the legs may solve the whole problem. If they cannot get to sitting in the first place, height will not help and a rail or handle is the answer. How to measure the right height.

Does Medicare pay for a bed rail or a handle?

Generally not as a standalone purchase. Medicare's durable medical equipment benefit covers rails as an accessory to a hospital bed it has already approved, which is a different route from buying a rail for the bed you own. What Medicare does and does not cover on bed rails.

Sources

Every factual claim on this page traces to one of these, or to a product listing cited in the specification table beside it.

  • Head to head

    Rail vs Assist Handle

    Two products, one search term, completely different jobs. Most people searching for the first one need the second.

  • Guide

    Best Bed Height for Seniors

    A calculator that shows its working, because the right answer depends on your legs and not on an average.

  • Head to head

    Alternatives to Rails

    Five ways to make getting in and out of bed safer, and the honest test for which problem you actually have before you buy a rail.

  • Guide

    Helping Someone Up

    Roll, sit, pause, stand — in that order, with the helper beside the person rather than lifting them. The sequence matters more than strength, and the pause matters most.

    Our top pick — Able Life Bedside Safety Handle

    $49.99 · Check price

    As of October 16, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Nothing here is medical advice. Prices are pulled live and stamped with the date they were checked; scores are our published spec rubric, not a test result. How we pick · How we make money · Corrections